Mount Taishan
sacred mountain and the symbol of Chinese spirit
Mount Taishan, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is a mountain of historical and cultural significance located in central Shandong Province, regarded as the first of the five mountains. The mountain is most famous for its spectacular sunrise and sunset.

Mount Taishan is honored as a sacred mountain and the symbol of Chinese national spirit. Religious worship of Mount Tai has a tradition of 3,000 years, from Shang to Qing Dynasty. Mount Tai was one of the principal places where emperors held Fengshan ceremonies (sacrificing to Heaven and Earth). In 219 BC, Qin Shi Huang (秦始皇, Qín Shǐ Huáng, 259 BC –210 BC), the first emperor of China, held a ceremony on the summit and proclaimed the unity of his empire in a famous inscription.

There are lots of temples, ruins, stone tablets and cliff-side and stone inscriptions on Mount Tai. Some of the main scenic spots are Jade Emperor Peak (玉皇顶, Yùhuángdǐng), Temple of the God of Mount Tai (岱庙, Dài Miào) and Goddess Dou Mu Palace (斗母宫, Dǒumǔgōng). There are thousands of old trees of cultural significance, such as the Han Dynasty Cypresses (about 2,100 years old) planted by the Emperor Wu Di (汉武帝, Hàn Wǔdì), the Welcoming-Guest Pine (500 years old) and the Fifth-Rank Pine named originally by the Emperor Qin Shi Huang.
Related Features
Contact Us
MSN Messenger:


Tel:86 18122392610
Our Generation
Humanism in China
Photography Exhibition of Chinese Folk Games
Address: No. 51 Tianhe Straight Street, Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
增值电信业务经营许可证粤B2-20050436   粤ICP备12029021号   粤公网安备44010602002768号