The Great Wall
one of the Seven Wonders of the World
The Great Wall of China is a series of stone and earthen fortifications in China, built and maintained between the 5th century BC and the 16th century to protect the northern borders of the Chinese Empire during the rule of successive dynasties. The largest scale of construction was carried out in 200 BC - 220 BC by the first Emperor of China, Qin Shi Huang; little of it remains; it was much farther north than the current wall, which was built during the Ming Dynasty in the 15th century.

The Great Wall stretches over 6,700 km from Shanhai Pass (山海关, Shānhǎi Guān, Number One Pass under Heaven) in the east to Jiayu Pass (嘉峪关, Jiāyù Guān) in the west. It passes through nine provinces, cities and autonomous regions of Liaoning, Hebei, Tianjin, Beijing, Inner Mongolia, Shanxi, Shaanxi, Ningxia and Gansu.

The Great Wall consists of a network of walls, watchtowers and passes, using earth, bricks, stones and wood as building materials. Shanhai, Jiayu, Juyong (居庸关, Jūyōng Guān), Yumen (玉门关, Yùmón Guān) and Yanmen (雁门关, Yànmén Guān) Passes are the most famous passes and the Badaling section is regularly visited by tourists today. It was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1987 and is considered as one of the Seven Wonders of the World.
Related Features
Contact Us
MSN Messenger:


Tel:86 18122392610
Our Generation
Humanism in China
Photography Exhibition of Chinese Folk Games
Address: No. 51 Tianhe Straight Street, Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
增值电信业务经营许可证粤B2-20050436   粤ICP备12029021号   粤公网安备44010602002768号